Welcome Message

Home > Welcome Message

Dear colleagues and friends,

On behalf of the organizing committee, it is my great pleasure and honor to invite you to participate in the 15th Conference of the Asian Society for Mitochondrial Research and Medicine (ASMRM 2018), which will be held on 7th Nov 2018 and 8th Nov 2018 at the Park Hyatt Busan, Busan, Korea.

The ASMRM is a joint venue between the Asian Society for Mitochondrial Research and Medicine and the Korean Society for Mitochondrial Research and Medicine, and is held annually throughout Asia. It is our goal to expose participants to groundbreaking mitochondrial research from renowned international scientists while providing a platform for young researchers to interact with the larger scientific community.

This year’s program will focus on mitochondrial research advancing clinical evolution (MIRACLE) that explores novel approaches to rescue mitochondrial dysfunction linked with numerous diseases, including metabolic syndrome, neurodegenerative diseases, cardiovascular diseases, cancer and aging. The conference will consist of the main talk sessions combined with peer-to-peer network sessions. All speakers are the top experts in the field of mitochondrial research and medicine. Your participation through exchanging ideas and in-depth discussions will be a great contribution to the success of the ASMRM 2018. Particularly, we would like to strongly encourage young researchers to join our conference and enjoy this exciting ‘MIRACLE’.

The venue is located in Haeundae Busan, which is known for its beautiful beaches. Busan is the 2nd largest city in Korea and has a lot of tourist attractions. It is our hope that you will be able to participate in the ASMRM 2018. We will try to make it a memorable, scientific, social and cultural experience. Please come, make friends, contribute to our society and enjoy the dynamic and exciting atmosphere of Haeundae.

Yours sincerely,


Minho Shong, M.D., Ph.D.
Korean Society for Mitochondrial Research and Medicine


Jin Han, M.D., Ph.D.
ASMRM 2018 Organizing Committee